Technically Speaking
Technically Speaking with Harrison Wheeler
Ep 11: The Craft of Management with Farai Madzima
0:00
-25:55

Ep 11: The Craft of Management with Farai Madzima

This is my birthday gift to you all! The first episode of Technically Speaking season two!

I have the pleasure of speaking with Farai Madzima, a design manager at Shopify and the founder of South Africa's premier design conference, PixelUp!

Today's theme; the craft of management. 

Farai takes us through his meandering path to becoming a User Experience Designer as well as his transition into management with some helpful tips for folks that are going into a leadership pathway.

Don't take my word for it. Here's him in his own words. 

"When we build trust, if you and I are working together on a team, And when we built trust, that is beyond trusting in our work skills, but trust that is based on us having spent time, no, each other's individuals.

And what's important to you. What is Harrison, you know, working towards this organization and what am I working towards? Harrison has felt comfortable to share with me, you know, the areas that he's developing. And he said, you know what, I'm really, you know, I'm not good at this yet. I'm trying to work on this when you, and I feel comfortable to say, you know, you're better than me at this.

Can you teach me how to do that? When we have that kind of trust where I can say that we work entirely differently, because then we can have the conversations that really help you and I grow. And when you scale that up and you've got, you know, a team of eight 16 people doing that, um, you can have much more vulnerable conversations that allow the team to grow that where mistakes are allowed to be made."

0 Comments
Technically Speaking
Technically Speaking with Harrison Wheeler
Technically Speaking is a podcast by Harrison Wheeler about BIPOC designers, entrepreneurs & technologists sharing their unique stories of triumph and resilience at the intersection of product design.